Lacking power after head rebuild - Page 2 - Ford F150 Forums - Ford F-Series Truck Community.

2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Lacking power after head rebuild

Old 11-21-2011
  #11  
KLC
On the Edge!

 
KLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,375
Default

That's unfortunate. Now you will be out more money.
KLC is offline  
Old 11-22-2011
  #12  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

yes. so far about $2K; almost exactly. the way i see it, i will still be ahead of the $4925 estimate the dealer gave me. Ford jumped the shark as they say. i learned to drive in a ford, my first car was a ford. my last 2 new car purchases were F150s and would have been for life. but never again. i think buying another and expecting a different result would classify me as insane.
Bryan M is offline  
Old 11-24-2011
  #13  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Happy Thanksgiving!
stopped by the shop that did the work yesterday. they do have a scanner, but were "unable to establish communication". i had to make an appointment, so i didn't have time to deal with it. i told him 'd have to bring it by next week sometime.
Bryan M is offline  
Old 11-24-2011
  #14  
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 646
Default

Originally Posted by Bryan M View Post
Happy Thanksgiving!
stopped by the shop that did the work yesterday. they do have a scanner, but were "unable to establish communication". i had to make an appointment, so i didn't have time to deal with it. i told him 'd have to bring it by next week sometime.
Thanks for the update Bryan! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!
Takeda is offline  
Old 11-24-2011
  #15  
Senior Member

 
Purplehazeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 1,436
Default

Originally Posted by Bryan M View Post
they do have a scanner, but were "unable to establish communication".
That could be part of the problem. You may have a data link down. I've seen tech scanners able to establish a connection, but fail to command modules due to a data link being broken. Fingers crossed it was human error!
Purplehazeir is offline  
Old 12-02-2011
  #16  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Update.
finally had a chance to go spend some time with the shop today. without knowing what it looks like i'll try to describe what he found. some sort of secondary butterfly in the induction was being obstructed by a section of wire loom and the plug terminal. he said he pulled it out of the way and zip tied it in place. seems to have solved it.
Bryan M is offline  
Old 12-02-2011
  #17  
KLC
On the Edge!

 
KLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,375
Default

Originally Posted by Bryan M View Post
Update.
finally had a chance to go spend some time with the shop today. without knowing what it looks like i'll try to describe what he found. some sort of secondary butterfly in the induction was being obstructed by a section of wire loom and the plug terminal. he said he pulled it out of the way and zip tied it in place. seems to have solved it.
Interesting.
KLC is offline  
Old 12-02-2011
  #18  
Senior Member

 
Purplehazeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 1,436
Default

Originally Posted by Bryan M View Post
Update.
finally had a chance to go spend some time with the shop today. without knowing what it looks like i'll try to describe what he found. some sort of secondary butterfly in the induction was being obstructed by a section of wire loom and the plug terminal. he said he pulled it out of the way and zip tied it in place. seems to have solved it.
Originally Posted by KLC View Post
Interesting.
X2 on the interesting! Glad you got it fixed Bryan.
Purplehazeir is offline  
Old 12-02-2011
  #19  
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 646
Default

Thanks for the update Brian! I'm glad you got it fixed, and it wasn't something major.
Takeda is offline  
Old 12-02-2011
  #20  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

thanks. me too.
i've been looking for a diagram of the intake so i could see what he was talking about. i don't care enough to tear into anything, but i have to admit i'm curious.
Bryan M is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
2011F150
2009 - Present Ford F150
2
02-15-2013 07:18 AM
F150Roger
Engine Talk & Maintenance
4
10-03-2011 08:33 PM
F150_R
Media - Pictures & Videos
2
05-05-2011 03:12 PM
Takeda
Photography & Photoshopping
0
04-08-2011 01:06 PM
danthurs
Off-Topic
13
03-16-2011 11:28 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Lacking power after head rebuild


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.