Lacking power after head rebuild - Page 2 - Ford F150 Forums - Ford F-Series Truck Community.


2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2011   #11
KLC
On the Edge!

 
KLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,375
Default

That's unfortunate. Now you will be out more money.
KLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011   #12
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

yes. so far about $2K; almost exactly. the way i see it, i will still be ahead of the $4925 estimate the dealer gave me. Ford jumped the shark as they say. i learned to drive in a ford, my first car was a ford. my last 2 new car purchases were F150s and would have been for life. but never again. i think buying another and expecting a different result would classify me as insane.
Bryan M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011   #13
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Happy Thanksgiving!
stopped by the shop that did the work yesterday. they do have a scanner, but were "unable to establish communication". i had to make an appointment, so i didn't have time to deal with it. i told him 'd have to bring it by next week sometime.
Bryan M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan M View Post
Happy Thanksgiving!
stopped by the shop that did the work yesterday. they do have a scanner, but were "unable to establish communication". i had to make an appointment, so i didn't have time to deal with it. i told him 'd have to bring it by next week sometime.
Thanks for the update Bryan! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!
Takeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011   #15
Senior Member

 
Purplehazeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 1,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan M View Post
they do have a scanner, but were "unable to establish communication".
That could be part of the problem. You may have a data link down. I've seen tech scanners able to establish a connection, but fail to command modules due to a data link being broken. Fingers crossed it was human error!
Purplehazeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011   #16
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Update.
finally had a chance to go spend some time with the shop today. without knowing what it looks like i'll try to describe what he found. some sort of secondary butterfly in the induction was being obstructed by a section of wire loom and the plug terminal. he said he pulled it out of the way and zip tied it in place. seems to have solved it.
Bryan M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011   #17
KLC
On the Edge!

 
KLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan M View Post
Update.
finally had a chance to go spend some time with the shop today. without knowing what it looks like i'll try to describe what he found. some sort of secondary butterfly in the induction was being obstructed by a section of wire loom and the plug terminal. he said he pulled it out of the way and zip tied it in place. seems to have solved it.
Interesting.
KLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011   #18
Senior Member

 
Purplehazeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 1,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan M View Post
Update.
finally had a chance to go spend some time with the shop today. without knowing what it looks like i'll try to describe what he found. some sort of secondary butterfly in the induction was being obstructed by a section of wire loom and the plug terminal. he said he pulled it out of the way and zip tied it in place. seems to have solved it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLC View Post
Interesting.
X2 on the interesting! Glad you got it fixed Bryan.
Purplehazeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011   #19
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 646
Default

Thanks for the update Brian! I'm glad you got it fixed, and it wasn't something major.
Takeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011   #20
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

thanks. me too.
i've been looking for a diagram of the intake so i could see what he was talking about. i don't care enough to tear into anything, but i have to admit i'm curious.
Bryan M is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching Head lights and Tail lights on a 2011 F150 2011F150 2009 - Present Ford F150 2 02-15-2013 07:18 AM
Ford F-150 Powertrains Head-To-Head Comparison F150Roger Engine Talk & Maintenance 4 10-03-2011 08:33 PM
Head Trauma *video* safe for work F150_R Media - Pictures & Videos 2 05-05-2011 03:12 PM
Diamond Head Crater & Park Takeda Photography & Photoshopping 0 04-08-2011 01:06 PM
Time to rebuild my shop danthurs Off-Topic 13 03-16-2011 11:28 PM


Tags
head rework, lack of power


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.